A is for Ariana

A is for Ariana

 

 

 

Ariana is a character in my novel “A Way About”, available on Amazon (see side bar).

Ariana appears on the very first page:

Chapter One

      My day started out with the potential to be normal.  In the end, when all had been resolved, the opposite became evident.

“AunEss, AunEss, answer your com!”

I moved my eyes from the report I was writing and punched the com screen.  The screen came to life.  I had left my com on audio so that my writing could be freely interrupted, but this didn’t sound positive.  My niece only called me AunEss when she was extremely upset.

“Sweetheart, what’s up?” I quietly asked.  Her face was very pale; quite unlike her usual fifteen-year-old rosy glow.

“There’s blood all over the floor in reception.  I don’t want to go any further inside.”

“You’re at the archaeology lab?”

“Yes, I just got here for work.  When I opened the door and saw all the blood, I couldn’t move.”

Ari pointed her com towards the floor.  There was a large pool of blood there, but nothing else was visible.

“Not moving is good!  Ari, you did the correct thing by calling me.  Is there anyone around?”

“No.”

“Then just stay put.  I’ll be right along.”

I scrambled out of Police Prime, and got my ride from the police parking lot across from Sector Park.  Being Colonel Esseline Robinson, the Planetary Police Chief of Ascendant, I had my own police vehicle.  Even though I was on administrative leave while I helped my niece, Ariana, settle into living with me, I decided she would need my support at the scene.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. caramiaamore
    Apr 01, 2012 @ 10:50:03

    Very interesting build up and a great way to start the A-to-Z Challenge!

    Cara

    Reply

  2. transitionalwoman1
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 09:34:48

    How perfect for you that your main character’s name starts with A so you were able to share some of your book with the very first A to Z Challenge post.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

